DonRocks

RIP Ziggy...

Don-- just curious... what was it about Bowie that made him special to you?

In 1974, on my 12th birthday, my brother bought me a few albums, one of which was Diamond Dogs - the rare one, with the folding album cover - and the music just resonated with me. Rebel Rebel was the earworm that reeled me in, but my dad had also bought me a new stereo (with headphones, for which I'm eternally grateful, and, unbeknownst to my parents, so were they), and I listened to that album over, and over, and over - for some reason, I found the "Chant of the Ever Circling Skeletal Family" fascinating - even today, it's so obscure it doesn't have a Wikipedia entry. Then, just a year later came Golden Years (another earworm) and Fame which, despite its popularity, was pretty far out there. So Bowie got me with both the normal *and* the weird, and I eventually worked my way back to Space Oddity (everyone does), and then when I was a freshman in college, he released its "sequel," Ashes to Ashes. - so that's a period of six years right there, and those are six pretty formative years. There was *lots* to draw on from the past, even when I was only 12, and he kept coming out with different sounds going forward, which held my interest. Let's Dance was his big sellout which came out in 1983, right before I got my undergraduate degree, but sellout or not, I liked it because there was something very "off" about the music (same reason I like Samuel Barber today - even the beloved Adagio for Strings is written in Phrygian Mode (we're discussing "modes" over on the Leonard Bernstein thread)). Bowie, for me, was a combination of the familiar and the exotic, in just the right doses (my good friend, five years older than me (who was also the guy who got me into wine) was also a Bowie fan, so that also helped in terms of influence).

• Like 2

Thanks Don. Your views on music intrigue me. I'd like to subscribe to your newsletter.