All-Day Food

baczkowski

OK, your homework: Give me ideas to cook or buy food for an All-Day "Open House."

I'm a high school librarian and this summer I got a new job at a local high school. Let's just say that the library has been under-utilized, so I'd like to hold an open house next week so people can reintroduce themselves to the library and meet me. Of course, food is the biggest motivator for folks, and many will come to eat instead of meet me, but that's fine since I want them to start having positive vibes about us, our space, and our services. The complicators are 1) This school supposedly has fantastic food often so the normal bagels and pastries would be yawn-inspiring and 2) The open house will be held throughout the day and available for whenever they have free time in their busy schedules as they prepare to teach our children. I'd like ideas for good (doesn't have to be fancy or even great--just something that shows a little more thought than donuts) food that also might be appropriate in the morning and afternoon. Money is an object, though, so something my staff and I could cook might be appropriate. For example, one thing I thought of was cooking a whole ham for sandwiches or breakfast snack. Ideas for sides and mains are all welcomed.

Wierd question/assignment, I know, but I was a little stumped and thought you all might have interesting and practical ideas b/c, well, you're food people!

Pax,

Brian

Canape-sized sandwiches? Anything that's easy to eat without utensils, but clean - no sticky fingerprints on the books.
I'd second the finger sandwiches.

Squares of frittata can be held at room temperature for a while and eaten with fingers (maybe a little greasy, though).