So, I am conflicted.  Here is the tale:  my husband has a friend who was raving about Hello Fresh, a service that delivers you precise amounts of ingredients for three meals for 2 people once a week for $69.  The friend had a coupon so we could try it for free, and husband wanted to try it out.

He approached me with trepidation, as I do all the grocery shopping and cooking, and really enjoy sitting down on Saturdays to go through my cookbooks and plan meals for the week.  I am also a good cook, who is adventurous.  (That said, I usually make a big to-do dinner on Sunday, plan on something else for another weeknight, and, because there are nights I am too tired/late from work, we end up ordering 1-2 times a week.)  We probably spend $50-70 a week on take out/delivery.

At first I was horrified as I thought this would be a lowest-common-denominator thing, with sysco foods, and recipes geared toward midwestern unadventurous housewives.  But, I figured it was free, and why not.   We got a box delivered on Tuesday with the makings for three meals - a shrimp cake with arugula, chicken tostadas, and, because it was super bowl week, a southwestern meat chili.  Everything came in a Styrofoam cooler, and was waiting at home fresh.  Each meal had the component ingredients in a bag, and the proteins were individually sealed.   For example, for the tostadas the bag had four tortillas, a can of kidney beans, organic raw chicken breasts, individual portions of the spices, peeled garlic, an avocado, a tomato, etc.  Each meal was supposedly between 400-700 calories per person.  

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of all the ingredients (except the tomato, but they all suck at this time of year).  The box also came with recipe cards with photos for each meal.