On 11/3/2009 at 8:42 PM, jparrott said:

Len Bias. I was 8 and playing in my yard when I heard. Grew up a lot that day. The ESPN doc airing right now brings a lot of that back.

On 6/19/2016 at 8:12 PM, Pat said:

30 years ago today. I remember this so vividly. I was a grad student at Maryland.  We got a notice in our mailboxes not to talk to the media.  I watched him play at Cole Field House a few times.  He wore a fur coat to walk across campus. I remember someone pointing him out to me once.

Post article

In this post, I justifiably poked fun at the sports media for proclaiming every "next great thing" as "The [X] Jordan" - Harold Miner was "Baby Jordan," Tamir Goodman was "Jewish Jordan,"  etc.

Len Bias could have been the next Michael Jordan, and was quite possibly the only player I've ever seen in my life who was *that good*.

Like when the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded, I remember exactly where I was, and exactly what I was doing, when I heard the news of Len Bias's tragic death - the two events happened only six-months apart.

To young people today: I realize it's premature to even infer such a thing, but Len Bias was one of the greatest college basketball players I've ever seen. When he was drafted by the Boston Celtics, and then died from an overdose of crack cocaine, none other than Red Auerbach (who said he'd been planning for *three years* to draft Bias for the Celtics), said the city of Boston had not been so shocked since the assassination of John F. Kennedy

Larry Bird, who had urged the Celtics to select Bias, and who had uniquely made plans to attend the Celtics' rookie camp to work with him, said, "It's horrible. It's the cruelest thing I ever heard."