Sinfonia (Three-Part Invention) #14 (1723), by Johann Sebastian Bach - With Study Guide

DonRocks

Johann Sebastian Bach wrote two series of "study pieces" for his students to prepare for his full-blown fugues. These can be thought of as "semi-fugues," or "preparatory studies" if you will, but they are by no means simple, elementary works; quite the contrary, they are extremely complex, and the Sinfonia (three-part inventions) are just one step away from being fugues.

Bach wrote fifteen two-part inventions (cataloged as BWV 772-786) which are definitely the easier of the two sets - they have two voices, but are fully contrapuntal (with a theme, answered in a "call and response" fashion with the other hand). 

The fifteen "Sinfonia" (also called three-part inventions, and cataloged as BWV 787-801) are a level up in difficulty, and some of them are more difficult than some of Bach's Fugues. 

I'm currently studying BWV 800, a three-part invention in B-flat major, and it is quite difficult. I have chosen - as many pianists do - to take all the untied eighth notes in the piece, and release them just before the end of the full eighth-of-a-beat, giving a small "breath" of silence after each one. The problem with this is *seeing* where these eighth notes are in this three-voiced piece - it's very difficult to memorize, and since you only have one brain and can't possibly think of three things simultaneously, you have to get these things in your "brain-to-muscle" memory. 

This afternoon, I spent some time extracting all the eighth notes from the piece, and have written them down separately, as their own piece of "music" (if you can call it that). It will help any aspiring student who wishes to allow these eighth notes to breathe, by giving the student a better idea of where they occur in the piece. For each note, I've included the correct fingerings which should be used when playing the *entire* piece.