Soccer for Dummies

DonRocks

Okay, I want to learn about soccer, from the ground up. I know a *little* bit, but barely a little - I'm not even sure I can name all the positions. 

Does anyone have any websites or reference material that will take me from ... assume zero just to be safe ... to something of a mastery, in an easy progression? I'm a very, very quick study, but I'd like to know some fundamentals before I get into this thread. I'm also more interested in a world view than a national view (although I would like to know how the U.S. is progressing at some point, too).

Can anyone list a few websites, from absolute beginner, to intermediate, to advanced? Not tutorials per se, but after I know the rules, for example, an intermediate video might compare and contrast the skills of Pele and Maradona, and maybe one day I'll understand why Messi is considered better than they were (although I've heard people say Maradona was the bomb-diggity)..

Thanks if you can point me in the right direction. I would also appreciate something similar for hockey (lovehockey?), which can go in its own "Hockey for Dummies" thread - in case anyone thinks I'm cocky, let these be two direct contradictions to that thought: I am as ignorant as any sports fan can possibly be about these two sports - I've even been to several Caps games and loved them; I just don't know *why*.

I think it's hard to watch a sport unless you have a rooting interest.  So you have to start by picking which team(s) to support.  There are many soccer leagues, so it is not inconceivable to support more than 1 team (heck, I root for 4 NFL teams).