At Home Fondue w/o a Fondue Set

kttobin

Dear Don Rockwellians--

I'm hosting a fondue fest this weekend, featuring 3 kinds of fondue (cheese, broth, and chocolate), plus some traditional Swiss side dishes (zopf, spaetzli, nuesslisalat, etc.). I'm mapping out the logistics, and have run into some questions:

* Does anyone have a recommended recipe for cheese or chinois (broth) fondue? I was an exchange student to Switzerland in high school, but paid much more attention to eating the fondue there than to preparing it.

* How can I keep the fondue pots sufficiently hot on my dinner table without having to buy a fondue set? I might be able to borrow one pot from a friend, but since we'll be 8 people, we'll probably take 2 tables and thus necessitate two pots. Can I use a regular pot atop a hot plate? Are there any battery operated hot plates, or will I have to deal with a cord? What about putting it on a rack above tea lights? (or does that only work with tea kettles?)

Thanks!

- KT

I'm not your best source for this, but my impression is that tea lights will only work for tiny (single-serving) pots, which defeats two-thirds of the fun of having fondue. For something bigger like this (and I highly recommend the pictured wine from Apremont btw), you might want to consider a Sterno-based setup.

Please let me know how this goes. Just yesterday I ordered an electric fondue set on Amazon for an early Christmas present.

After I took a my daughter to melting pot she has become obsessed with trying it at home.

What type of chocolate are you using?

If I didn't have a fondue set, I would melt on a double boiler and keep warm with a sterno set up (Party City has very inexpensive disposable set ups that work perfect for a party).

We use an electric hot plate when we have more than one pot of fondue. Just watch the temperature and it should be fine.