Langano, Downtown Silver Spring - Ethiopian on Georgia and Thayer Avenue

15 years ago, when I was an undergrad at GW, Zed's was where I went.

Then I discovered Adams Morgan, and until I moved to the burbs, Fasika's and Meskerem became my regular haunts.

About 4 years ago, I discovered Langano in Silver Spring, and that's where I've had most of my Ethiopian feasts recently. I know the U St. corridor is supposed to be the best these days, but I just haven't made it there yet. I do go to the AFI Silver theater frequently, so Langano is very convenient.

However, last night before catching a film at the AFI, I went again to Langano. Maybe it was just me, but I thought everything seemed off (except for the injera, which was great as usual.) Wats didn't seem as spicy as they've been in the past. Collards and other vegetable dishes just didn't have the same kick they used to. The lentil dishes, which are usually so interestingly spiced, seemed bland. The lamb was actually chewy, not tender.

Rocks, I know you've recommended Langano in the past - been there recently? I tried to ask one of the servers if the chef had changed recently, but didn't get a straight answer.

So where SHOULD I be going?

Has anyone on the board tried Addis Ababa, on Fenton Street in Silver Spring? It has a covered rooftop dining area that looks inviting.

No, but we've been to the other Ethiopian place in Silver Spring on Georgia, Langano, which is good, but not great. And the A/C seems to always "be fixed tomorrow". Prices are right, though.

We were actually thinking of trying Addis Ababa tonight, so I'll report back if we do.

I'm convinced that because I don't eat Ethiopian more than a few times a year, I'm not used to the injera, and that causes each little air bubble to act like it comes with it's own microscopic pneumatic pump, resulting in the injera quintupling in size after I swallow it, with me invariably becoming full after about twenty bites of food.