Johnny Boy's Ribs, LaPlata - Sold to New Owners, and Closed

Joe H said:
I haven't been in two years but then and for years before this, Johnny Boy's in LaPlata. In Fredericksburg it is the original Allman's on route 1 which I was at several months ago. For me nothing in the D. C. area approaches either of these.

I always thought Johnny Boys was good but not great, benefitting as much from its location as from the quality of its meat. I eat it gladly, but have gotten better 'cue from other places along the 301 corridor.

I always thought Johnny Boys was good but not great, benefitting as much from its location as from the quality of its meat. I eat it gladly, but have gotten better 'cue from other places along the 301 corridor.

I hadn't been to Johnny Boy's in almost two years (click). The problem with going to exurb (does LaPlata count as an exurb?) rib joints sporadically, is that you can't really get a good grasp on what to expect. I'm no expert, but it seems like most places have dramatic swings in quality from day-to-day, and to really "judge" a rib shack, you pretty much need to specialize in road food, driving around and trying these places often.

That said, I didn't love my ribs two years ago, and I barely even liked my ribs last night. A full slab was well-smoked, but the question is: when? These ribs were extremely "done," and were so dried out that some of the end-parts had the consistency and toughness of beef jerky, and the dryness of a cotton ball. There's no question that Johnny Boy's is smoking good ribs, but now that I've had two disappointing visits in a row, the question is: When do you get them?