Loeb's New York Deli (Formerly Loeb's Perfect New York Deli), Reopen at Farragut West - Owners David, Steve and Marline Loeb on 17th and I Streets

I'm surprised there isn't a thread for this place already. I'm no deli expert, but I enjoyed my order of the Park Avenue - corned beef and pastrami on twin rolls with Russian dressing. A great sandwich for the indecisive. The corned beef was good and plentiful, but didn't really wow me. Meanwhile, the pastrami was solidly smoky and flavorful. I also really liked the small very eggy rolls that they arrived on. I'd definitely go back for more of the pastrami.

I have to second the Loeb's recommendation.

If you're in the mood for a great deli sandwich (corned beef / turkey / roast beef / whatever) dripping with coleslaw or spicy brown mustard, check it out.

If you're really feeling gluttonous, one of their sandwiches comes with a fried egg on top. I wouldn't recommend it if your afternoon plans don't include a nap, but it is definitely an over-the-top treat.

I think their matzoh ball soup is just okay -- the balls are a little dense and the broth not quite hearty enough for my taste... but if you are looking for matzoh ball soup, you'll find it there.

Alex

From looking at the menu at MenuPix that appears to be the Time Square, with Pastrami, cheese, and special recipe "Russian Dressing".

That's it. The Times Square. That thing made me want to curl up under my desk, but I still couldn't say no.

Glancing at the menu, the other items I particularly enjoyed -- Park Avenue, Madison Avenue -- were each served on two small rolls, making a single order a plate of two separate, identical sandwiches. The rolls were soft, but dense enough to stand up (mostly) to the creamy coleslaw... and at the end, I'd find myself sopping up whatever coleslaw had dripped onto the plate with the little bit of leftover roll from the end of the sandwich. No wonder I had to get my suits altered after nine months of working off McPherson Square.