Visiting for Four Days in June - Russet, Mr. Martino's Trattoria, Le Virtu, and ... What Else?

Steve R.

We're going to be in Philly for 4 nights in early June and plan to go to Russet, Mr. Martino's Trattoria, helm & Le Virtu.  Any comments about these places would be appreciated, as would other recommendations to replace any/all.  As you call tell, this is a pretty eclectic list, ranging from farm to table to Philly red sauce Italian to upscale-ish regional Italian, so we're open.  We're intentionally not going to some of the major well known spots (like Solomonov's) & would love to hear about some hidden or lesser known places.  Thanks.

I’ve been a resident of Philly for the past two years. I got to know Don when I lived in DC from 2001-04.

I’ve not been to any of these 4 places, although I am most intrigued by Russet. Given I’ve passed the others over, I’d suggest you replace them with one of the following restaurants I can recommend: Townsend, ITV, Royal Sushi & Izakaya, Res Ipsa (not red sauce but some of the best pasta in the city!), Sate Kempar, Friday Saturday Sunday, Royal Boucherie, Vedge, Little Fish, Perla, Stargazy (British pie shop - notmopen for dinner yet - only lunch). Happy to extrapolate!

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, liam said:

I’ve been a resident of Philly for the past two years. I got to know Don when I lived in DC from 2001-04.

I’ve not been to any of these 4 places, although I am most intrigued by Russet. Given I’ve passed the others over, I’d suggest you replace them with one of the following restaurants I can recommend: Townsend, ITV, Royal Sushi & Izakaya, Res Ipsa (not red sauce but some of the best pasta in the city!), Sate Kempar, Friday Saturday Sunday, Royal Boucherie, Vedge, Little Fish, Perla, Stargazy (British pie shop - notmopen for dinner yet - only lunch). Happy to extrapolate!