Bagels versus 'Rolls with Holes'

darkstar965

At Don's request, starting a topic about what differentiates a "real bagel" from the posers (I call them "rolls with holes") which dominate the American market.

Simplifying, there are at least three key things (and I'd love for Mary Beall Adler to weigh in here because I am not a bagel expert--have just read and learned enough to be dangerous over the years) that distinguish the ridiculously small number of "real bagel spots" from all the rest in this country:

1. Ingredients. As with any food, it all starts here. Real bagels should have a small number of ingredients. A high-gluten flour, salt, yeast starter, whatever topping (e.g., onion, garlic, poppyseed), etc.. High-gluten flour is the most likely short cut taken by many since it's more expensive than the cheaper "all purpose" flours in use at nearly all roll-with-hole places. If you ever get a chance to compare and contrast bagels made similarly except for different flours, the difference is obvious.

2. Proof. Real bagels are proofed in a warm oven for around 12 hours.

3. Boil. This requires special equipment if a commercial/retail operation. Commercial bagel boilers can be large and expensive. Very few places in America boil their 'rolls with holes' since the thinking is most people won't know the difference anyway.

4. Bake. Oven.

Wikipedia has a decent overview of the history and process here.

And, a Chow journalist did a good primary piece here with the first page better than the 2nd where the home process glosses ingredients among other issues.