The National Debt - Ceiling Currently Set at 16.394 Trillion Dollars, $51,408 Per U.S. Resident

The Hersch

I've been saying the same thing about the national debt for twenty years now, and nobody listens to me.

It's unclear exactly what you've been saying about the national debt, but if you're saying it's a looming crisis that's going to bring the U.S. economy crashing down, or end civilization as we know it, there's a good reason nobody listens to you: That's all nonsense. The great majority of U.S. debt held by the public is basically money that we owe ourselves; paying it doesn't make us poorer, because both the payer and the payee are us. Furthermore, almost all of the public debt is denominated in dollars, and the U.S. has absolute control over the supply of dollars. Finally, what better time to be in debt than when interest rates are practically zero? This is a great time to borrow, not such a great time to save.

• Like 1

Bill Gates on Monetary Policy on cnbc.com:

Gates, who held the title of the richest man on Earth on and off for decades before Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos unseated him last year, also ripped the increasingly popular modern monetary theory.

The school of thought has received backing on the left from politicians such as Ocasio-Cortez and Sen. Bernie Sanders, who is likely to run for president in 2020. President Donald Trump has expressed views that align with it, too. "First of all, you never have to default because you print the money. I hate to tell you. So there's never a default," Trump said while campaigning in 2016.

The theory, also known as MMT, dismisses concerns about sovereign debt since countries that print their own currency can't really run out of money.

"That is some crazy talk," Gates told The Verge.

Thank goodness I'm not the only person who thinks that debt is a very real thing.

Debt-deniers remind me of the people dancing the "Circle Dance" in Milan Kundera's "The Book of Laughter and Forgetting" ...