Meskerem, One Of The Original Ethiopian Restaurants in Washington, DC, Adams Morgan - Closed

15 years ago, when I was an undergrad at GW, Zed's was where I went.

Then I discovered Adams Morgan, and until I moved to the burbs, Fasika's and Meskerem became my regular haunts.

About 4 years ago, I discovered Langano in Silver Spring, and that's where I've had most of my Ethiopian feasts recently. I know the U St. corridor is supposed to be the best these days, but I just haven't made it there yet. I do go to the AFI Silver theater frequently, so Langano is very convenient.

I really liked Harambe at 18th and U, which was very cheap but tasted just as good as Dukem, Zed's or Meskerem. (although I didn't order the kitfo). Other than that (and I'm sure people will jump all over me for saying this) I think Zed's is one of the better places in the city, mainly because the service is much better there than other places. I have to be honest though...I haven't been anywhere further east than 11th and U.

My favorite is Lalibela on 14th St., at the intersection of straight lines from the dupont and mcpherson square metros.

This comes with a caveat- the food is not quite as good as etete or meskerem, as the meat isn't quite as high quality. What you get is a place that's still full of cabbies, however, which is probably what going out for Ethiopian felt like before places started having to take reservations. The staff is very happy to see you and damn impressed if you manage to finish your meal. It's enough off the beaten path that you can generally get a table on a Friday night, as well.

(liberally lumping Ethiopian and Eritrean cuisine together...)