Cocktail Technique

I am a cocktail novice. I try at home, and I think I do OK. But my biggest problem is getting accurate measurements. I know this is mostly about ratios of this to that that may make a drink tasty, but any other tips? I found out the thing I was using was not a 1 oz thing, but either a 2CL or 4CL thing (.6666 and 1.3333 oz respectively thing).

TIA!

The Oxo thing is good in that is shows all measurement units, metric and standard. But I find it a awkward to use.

You should go to Cocktail; Kingdom and buy a pair of properly graduated shot glasses. Buy the one that has 1/2 ox paired with 3/4 oz and the 1 oz paired with the 2 oz. Get the Japanese style, which is longer, not squat like the alternative.

A great book on technique to get you started was published last Fall. Look for "The Bar Book" by Jeffery Morganthaler. No recipes, all about technique, and how to do it right. For all of this and recipes, too, look for Gary Regan's "The Joy of Mixology". Both really good writers and books.

• Like 1

I am curious, why do you say it is a measuring accuracy thing?  Even if you are using a inaccurate shot glass, wouldn't you still be getting the ratios right?  What recipes are you not satisfied with?

Personally, I think accuracy is overrated, especially when it comes to the base spirit.  For gin, rum, whiskey, tequila, etc., I have found it is not fatal to pour between 1.5oz and 2 oz for any given cocktail.  Where accuracy does become important is in the ratio of sweet:sour.  DeGroff generally has a 3:2 ratio, but others use a 1:1.  Your choice.  For especially strong cordials, or bitters/amaros, I do find precise measurements are needed.

Of course you are using pristine clean equipment, but I just want to address that to the general audience.  That of course can affect taste.  Washing garnishes, like oranges before using the peel, is also important.