Alison Cook's Top 100 Restaurants - Annual Compilation in The Houston Chronicle

Josh

The Chronicle just released Alison Cook's 2016 Top 100 restaurants list.  

It's been a couple years since I've been to her number 1, Oxheart...I need to get back.  

As a Heights resident, I was pleased to see 4 of our neighborhood places in the top 25 (Bernadines, Coltivare, Hunky Dory, and Foreign Correspondents).  Looking good in the neighborhood (and well done to the Treadsack team).

On 1/1/2019 at 12:14 AM, DonRocks said:

"Alison Cook's Top 100 Restaurants - 2018" on houstonchronicle.com

It would be interesting if someone compared additions, deletions, and changes between 2016 and 2018.

To Houston residents: How credible is Ms. Cook as a restaurant critic?

First off, I think Alison Cook is a fine food critic. She displays a deep knowledge of how Houston has evolved over the years, and (I think) tries to balance old and new in her rankings.  Of course, we can all find something to criticize, and other knowledgable Houston critics like Culture Map's Eric Sandler certainly have.

Houston's food scene moves quickly...7 of the top 25 restaurants in 2016 have either closed or undergone major conceptual changes (1 out of the 2018 Top 10 has already closed).  The demise of the shockingly badly run Treadsack Restaurant Group took out 3 of the top 25 (Bernadine's, Hunky Dory, & Foreign Correspondents).  

Even with those changes, the faces behind the top cadre of restaurants has stayed fairly stable.  2016's #1 Oxheart has been successfully transformed by chef Justin You to 2018's #2 Theodore Rex. Chef Hugo Ortega's flagship Hugo's has dropped down from #2 to #13, but his rightfully acclaimed Xochi is the new #1. Chef Chris Shepherd shuttered his #12 restaurant, the beloved pan-everything Underbelly (which is now the steak-centric Georgia James), shifting the cultural ADHD of Underbelly to a smaller space across the street, moving up to #8 in the process.