Saffron

lperry

I am making paella for dinner tonight, so I picked up a little jar of saffron at Trader Joe's today. $5.99 for 0.7 grams of Spanish saffron that is primarily red. I bought it at TJs because I didn't want to drive all the way to Penzey's in Falls Church. I checked their website, and their prices are higher, but they have both Indian and Spanish varieties. I've also seen saffron at Costco, and it is on their website, although I haven't checked in the store this year. They source it from Iran and it is priced quite a bit lower than TJs.

I have some experience with saffron, most of which I've bought in Indian grocery stores over the years. My knowledge, though, is limited to three main points: 1. go for red threads instead of yellow (advice from an Indian friend), 2. look closely to make certain you have stigmas and styles instead of the most common fake substitute, safflower petals, and 3. I really,really enjoy the flavor of saffron. I'm curious if anyone has noticed differences in flavor or quality in different saffrons, and I also would like to know where people are buying it and how they are using it. Anyone?

I am making paella for dinner tonight, so I picked up a little jar of saffron at Trader Joe's today. $5.99 for 0.7 grams of Spanish saffron that is primarily red. I bought it at TJs because I didn't want to drive all the way to Penzey's in Falls Church. I checked their website, and their prices are higher, but they have both Indian and Spanish varieties. I've also seen saffron at Costco, and it is on their website, although I haven't checked in the store this year. They source it from Iran and it is priced quite a bit lower than TJs.