Say Cheese

LittleWing

Hey all,

Say Cheese is a new(ish) blog on my site about cheese and cheese & wine pairing. This week and next are dedicated to cheeses for Thanksgiving! :)

If you have any cheese questions at all, please Email me and I'll post the answers. I am dying to know your burning cheese questions! (Though for cheese that is actually burning, I don't think I can help)

I am new to DR so just looking around and trying to learn about the site. I have enjoyed exploring cheeses since eating an aged Gouda in Fairway market in NYC about 10 years ago and wondering what were those little "crystals" and why did this Gouda taste so good compared to the ones with the red wax in the grocery store. I bought Steve Jenkins book and have been trying to learn about cheese ever since. I have to say my favortites are sheep cheeses, like a Pecorino Toscano. On that note, are there any other sheep cheeses with a similar profile that you are particulalry excited about right now ? Thanks. -Tony

Hi Tony! I'm a huge fan of sheep's milk cheeses. Both Cinerino (from italy) and Castellano (from Spain) have a firm, flaky texture with a bright, tangy flavor that I find similar to an aged Pecorino Toscano, and they're two that I'm really digging right now. You also might enjoy Pecorino Ginepro, which has a rind that's washed in juniper berries & balsamic vinegar. it's pretty bright as well, with just a finish that's just a touch woodsy. Another fav of mine.

Good luck, post back if you try them!