Grilling 101

DanCole42

So after several years of obeying the legal restraints on putting grills on balconies, I finally moved to a jurisdiction with lose enough fire prevention laws (Alexandria). I picked up a Weber 22.5" - the CLASSIC grill - and I've been using it almost every night since I moved in a month ago.

I've made sausages, vegetable kabobs, marinated steaks both flank and flat iron, swordfish, burgers, dogs, buttermilk biscuits, etc. Veal, pork, chicken, bacon and lamb will soon follow.

I use all natural lump charcoal (no briquets here), and lighter fluid never gets near my food. I start the fire with a chimney starter, although I use scrap paper from the office instead of newspaper (hopefully the toner vapor isn't giving me cancer).

So like I said the first time I've ever grilled on my own was a month ago - I'm a grilling novice. Since this is such a savvy and sophisticated group, I was hoping I could solicit some tips, techniques, recipes, etc. from you all.

Luckily, what I lack in experience I make up for in the apron my fiancee bought me after I got the grill - "Sophisticated, Seductive, and Full-Bodied (and the wine isn't bad either)." :unsure:

• Replies 187
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

One specific item - I can't seem to consistently get good grill marks. I don't move the meat, and it SEEMS like my coals are plenty hot enough... Should I invest in a heavy duty cast iron grate?

Short answer, yes. It is not easy to get good grill marks with those flimsy grates that come with the webbers. However, you can still get good final results. Look into reading one of the grilling books by...damn cannot remember the guys name...although I think Alton Brown has some good info.