Quit Your Day Job?

jpschust

So feel free to move this if you think this is more appropriate in another forum.

Today I came home from work just a few minutes ago and suddenly all my cares fall to the wayside. As some of you know I'm a mid level manager at a company, handling all sorts of complex risk analysis. Not to be arrogant, but I'm extremely good at what I do and I know it. That said, I'm finding more and more the only times I am truly happy is when I'm cooking for others (regularly doing 5-10 course meals once to twice a week), writing about food, reading about food and researching food.

It's weeks like this where nothing has gone overwhelmingly wrong, but I realize that my heart isn't in my job as much as it should be, that I want to just quit my job and go be a line cook somewhere. I'd be happy makine mire poix and stocks for people for a long time to come.

Sorry, just a venting of a frustration.

Thanks for the bandwidth.

Jonny

Jonny,

I am so there with you. Seriously. I am running a non-profit now, one that I wouldn't be running except that when my boss up and moved to Europe in August, our staff of two became a staff of one. I am desperately seeking to get into the gourmet/wine/cooking industry. I love talking, writing, discussing food and wine. I love planning menus and events. As soon as I'm done with this god-awful 800 person Gala in Feb., I am OUTTA here. Maybe back to France... but definitely where my heart is. Life's too short to spend it with your mind in one place and your heart in another...

Brett

I had a dinner party for 28 people back in November. The two crazy weeks I spent planning and cooking were more fun than I had had in a REALLY long time.

Of course, my reaction to this was Food!! Catering!! Culinary School!! I MUST DO THIS ALL THE TIME!

But.