The Best Piece of Fish I've Ever Eaten

zoramargolis

Yesterday morning there was a large white delivery truck parked at the bottom of my driveway. A tall, grey haired man named Jim Chambers lifted the rear door, letting out a quick blast of cold air, and hopped in. “I’m going to shut the door to keep the cold air in, but I’ll be back out in a second.” He pulled the door down, emerging a few moments later with a large white plastic bag. In it was my fish—a 7 1/2 pound black cod, or sablefish, which he’d picked up earlier at Dulles after a flight from Alaska.

I’ve been corresponding with Jim via e-mail for several months now, after finding out about him from Drive-by-Critic, who lives in Jim’s neighborhood. Jim is a seafood dealer who sells super-fresh fish from Alaska and the Northwest to many of the best restaurants and fish markets in town. His business, called Prime Seafood, is a one-man operation. He’ll sell to private individuals, like you and me, as long as we are willing to deal with a whole fish. I got my name on Jim’s e-mail list and have been getting regular updates about what he’ll be getting in (usually at the end of a week), and I’ve been trying without success until yesterday, to get a sablefish from him. He’d say he was getting king salmon, halibut and sablefish, and I’d request one, and then get an e-mail back that no sablefish had come. Until yesterday.

Why sablefish? Why not get salmon? Well, salmon weigh 10-12 pounds each, and sable are around 7 pounds. At $10-$12 a pound, it’s not an insignificant investment. And then there’s the fact that good wild salmon in manageable pieces is possible to find, albeit expensive. Sablefish is highly perishable. It’s hard to find at any price. And it’s really, really delicious.