Fresh Cayenne Peppers

bubbaque

Greetings all,

I am in a bit of a pickle here. I bought some fresh cayenne peppers at a farmer's market last week-end. Mainly because I've never seen them fresh.

I need to use them in the next couple of evenings before I go to the beach for a week, but I can't seem to find a recipe calling for fresh cayennes (they all seem to call for powdered cayenne). Although I've never used them before, I do know they are alot hotter than jalapenos or even serranos.

Which begs the following question: Does anyone here know of a recipe requiring fresh cayennes?

Failing any other option I'll make gazpacho tonight (four servings worth). If anyone has experience with fresh cayennes, would one or two of them overwhelm the recipe?

Cheers,

bubbaque

Can probably use them in a salsa or chili instead of whichever pepper the recipe calls for. Would be great with the season's tomatoes! Assuming you like your salsas and chilis good and hot.

Perhaps your peppers should be in a pickle, too.

Perhaps your peppers should be in a pickle, too.

'Tis a wry wit you display, shogun!

And excellent suggestions as well. I'm sure my next salsa mexicana or pot of November carne chili colorado would be blazingly fiery with the substitution of these cayennes for serranos or chipotles (although what would provide the green for the salsa mexicana?).

However time is of the essence. I either use them in the next 48 hours, or I'll have to freeze them (bad) or throw them away (abominable).

Because not only are they hotter chiles, they're actually a heck of a lot larger. I guess I could always cut one into a half dozen sections and add to the food processor w/tomatoes until the gazpacho gets the heat I'm looking for.