Gnocchi

monavano

I'm not that good at making gnocchi. My first attempt actually came out ok-not pillowy, yet not sinkers. Since then, my more recent attempts have involved way to much flour and kneading. I think the pototoes smell my fear.

Does anyone have an easy recipe that could help me make good gnocchi?

There a ton of recipes that work well, but the same premise will apply to all of them: the less moisture involved, the lighter the gnocchi will be. Whatever potato I use, I am always sure to roast them whole on a bed of kosher salt. The salt draws out the moisture. (Boiling the potato seems to defeat the purpose of keeping them as dry as possible, you know?)

Peel and rice the potatoes and add an egg, a little salt and just enough flour so the mass holds together and has just lost most of its "tackiness".

I've never really used a recipe, but this method always works for me. Good luck!

I started out with Marcella Hazan's recipe and had luck, but largely because a seasoned gnocchist was in charge and watching someone experienced helps. That was years ago and after I stopped making them, I was reluctant to try again.

What got me back into the cult was Judy Rodger's superbly photographed, detailed lesson in making ricotta gnocchi (*Zuni Cafe Cookbook*); I'm pretty sure I PM'd an explanation to you some time ago. The recipe is so easy to follow, and results so spectacular, the fragrance of fear dissipated after tasting the first batch.

Then, I started making ones w butternut squash, using tutorials of Franci (formerly active at eGullet, native of Puglia, professionally trained, who, as a new mother, now blogs elsewhere in Italian every few months or so). On the entry I've linked here, note the blogger's own link to an entry she wrote about gnocchi. She offers a series of pointers about technique that you might find of use.