Fresh (raw or pasteurized) Goat Milk

Andelman

I am not sure if there was a thread on this topic already, but I couldn't find anything with a search, so....

I am looking for some fresh goat's milk, either raw or pastuerized, as I would like to try my hand at making some fresh (and possibly aged) goat cheese. I have been doing a bit of research and it seems fairly easy to do (famous last words..) and I am a huge goat cheese fan.

Has anyone tried doing this at home or in a commercial kitchen? Any help is appreciated.

Claire, from Clear Springs Creamery (at the Dupont Market) told me about a woman she knows who keeps goats, who she says I can get fresh, unpasteurized goat milk from. I haven't pursued it yet. Obviously, I can't say anything more about this contact, because it is illegal to sell unpasteurized milk commercially.

I have been making fresh chevre and other fresh cheeses for several years now. I get my chevre culture and other supplies from New England Cheesemaking Supply Co. in Ashfield, Massachusetts. They sell good instruction books, as well.

http://www.cheesemaking.com

I use the pasteurized goat milk (I think it is called Albert's, from PA) that is available at some Whole Foods stores. Don't bother trying to use Meyenberg ultra-pasteurized goat milk, which is more widely available. Ultra pasteurized milk cannot be used for cheesemaking. While I would prefer to have unpasteurized milk, obviously, I have been very happy with the results when I use Albert's goat milk.

Claire, from Clear Springs Creamery (at the Dupont Market) told me about a woman she knows who keeps goats, who she says I can get fresh, unpasteurized goat milk from. I haven't pursued it yet. Obviously, I can't say anything more about this contact, because it is illegal to sell unpasteurized milk commercially.