Prime Rib

mame11

How hard is Prime Rib to make? I want to use Lawry's Restaurant's recipe for a birthday dinner later this week. Also, should I preorder the meat from WF or other butcher?

(note: I have never made Prime Rib, never made a brisket and never made a pot roast... I am a complete novice... is Prime Rib Mt. Everst?)

Thanks in advance...

How hard is Prime Rib to make? I want to use Lawry's Restaurant's recipe for a birthday dinner later this week. Also, should I preorder the meat from WF or other butcher?

(note: I have never made Prime Rib, never made a brisket and never made a pot roast... I am a complete novice... is Prime Rib Mt. Everst?)

Thanks in advance...

Your name suggests that you live in DC so my suggestion of the Springfield Butcher won't be all that useful to you, others may chime in.

But I do want to tell you that prime rib is NOT hard to make -- ask the butcher to cut the roast from the bone and then tie them back together. The Springfield Butcher calls this "cracked and cradled."

We roast at 250F until 100F internal, then crank the heat to 400F and roast to 130F internal. This roast will be browned on the outside and rare on the inside (very rare!). Salt first, I would not pepper first as pepper will burn.

Roast on a rack in a shallow pan. Let it rest before cutting. It's much easier to cut if you remember to remove the meat from the bone rack before slicing. Roasting on the bone is tasty, cutting on the bone is hard.

Thanks in advance...

My mom often made prime rib for Christmas dinner and other special meals and she wasn't a fancy cook at all. I make it periodically. I noticed that WF (at least Old Town) has a pre-Christmas special on it for $9.99/lb. I'm not sure if that runs to the 23rd or 24th.

There was just an episode on Food Network with Bobby Flay making one, so that recipe might be online, but it's a pretty basic roast.