Blackie's House Of Beef Closed After 56 Years

Bye bye Blackie's. We won't hardly miss ya...

Back when I was an undergrad at GW, this was one of the "destination" restaurants that parents took their little darlings to when they came to visit. I remembered it fondly, until I visited a few years after graduation, when I had gained a greater appreciation for good food.

Remember those childhood shows that you remember fondly, until you catch them on Nick at Nite, and the memory is ruined by a godawful piece of dreck?

Similar reaction...

Agreed. I say good riddance to that crap-heap. Now if we can only do away with LuLu's as well!

Bye bye Blackie's. We won't hardly miss ya...

Back when I was an undergrad at GW, this was one of the "destination" restaurants that parents took their little darlings to when they came to visit. I remembered it fondly, until I visited a few years after graduation, when I had gained a greater appreciation for good food.

Remember those childhood shows that you remember fondly, until you catch them on Nick at Nite, and the memory is ruined by a godawful piece of dreck?

Similar reaction...

5 hours ago, DonRocks said:

When Blackie's closed, it was in a hotel on 22nd and M Street (I can picture it; I just can't remember the hotel) - I wonder where this building was.

Jan 10, 2012 - "Lulu H. Auger, Blackie's House of Beef Founded, Dies at 87" by Bart Barnes on washingtonpost.com

I looked at that postcard and was also surprised;  a stand alone building with greenery in the background.  Hey the photo could be from the 50’s or 60’s before construction sprang up around it.

The original Blackie’s as you may recall it circa 70’s or 80’s and thereafter stood under and surrounded by a Marriott.  As I recall one of the doormen at the hotel in the mid 80’s was the reserve or 2nd string center at Georgetown playing behind Patrick Ewing.  One tall tall dude in a formal doorman outfit: a startling site in its own regard