Port City Brewing Company

jandres374

Had a glass of their pale ale from a growler somebody brought to a Super Bowl party yesterday. At least they said it was the pale and not the IPA. If so it was quite hoppy for the style, but nicely balanced. Good to have another micro up and running in the area!

I like the porter, but I tried the Monumental IPA from the sixer I bought and, regrettably, I have to say I'm not a fan. It's more of a pale ale, meaning it's not hoppy enough for an IPA and it finishes way too sweet. I'd love to know what the finishing gravity is. I couldn't finish my second beer due to the cloying sweetness and the fullness factor. Trust me, I can drink a few good beers, so it's not like I'm a rank amateur. I've heard the wit is very good and the porter's had great reviews, too. I love the locavore factor and I hope they keep growing and tweaking.

I like the porter, but I tried the Monumental IPA from the sixer I bought and, regrettably, I have to say I'm not a fan. It's more of a pale ale, meaning it's not hoppy enough for an IPA and it finishes way too sweet. I'd love to know what the finishing gravity is. I couldn't finish my second beer due to the cloying sweetness and the fullness factor. Trust me, I can drink a few good beers, so it's not like I'm a rank amateur. I've heard the wit is very good and the porter's had great reviews, too. I love the locavore factor and I hope they keep growing and tweaking.

I've had the wit from bottle so far and thought it was very clean, I usually find them to be too cloying in the wrong hands. That said, what are people paying for 6-packs around town? I've only seen them at the P St. WF and I believe they were $10.99. That is steep, even factoring in the overhead of a small operation just starting up. Buy local, small independent business, blah blah blah. They're going to have to be competitive on price to find a niche.