Restaurant Kolumbia, Final Day Was Oct 27th.

Why on Earth doesn't anyone talk about this restaurant? Is it one of those insider foodie taboos, like how you're not to supposed to say "Macbeth" in the theater.

I mean we're talking about pork loin stuffed with pig foot and wrapped in caul(which btw is trimmed to look like a pigs foot). This isnt you're average downtown meat and three(or is it two, Im not from Memphis) they're doing real food, real good. I wish I was a better writer but I'm not, so I'm just gonna let Tom(not the one you're thinking of) tell you all about it.

Obviously their PR machine is in the shop; it's not like there was a billboard on 495 saying "Palena cafe open on Monday nights!". Where's the hubub, the whispers, the murmurs and where the hell has this thread been?

• Replies 194
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I've been there a number of times (I work in the same building) and I'm not quite as enthusiastic.  When it's good, it can be very, very good.  It's quite hit or miss, though.

Many places can be like that and reviews, posts, or many visits help to find those items worth returning to eat. Can you provide some suggestions on items to order (or not)?

We celebrated NYE a night early at Kolumbia and with the place to ourselves had a very positive experience. I was similarly nervous having seen little positive chatter, but we did the tasting menu with wine pairing and weren't disappointed with any of the 10 plates between us. The details are fuzzy between the months past and the 5 glasses of vino, but highlights were:

artichoke soup

gnocchi (not the same as on current menu)

and our two seafood dishes - a black cod and a diver scallops, both of which appear to be on the current menu. I'd never before had black cod and it was delicious, as were the scallops.