"Meal Once Removed," by Anne Marson

marsonanne

I am a food writer for the Washington City Paper--thanks to mdt for posting my last piece. Even if I did get a YAWN. [WINKING EMOTICON] Anyway, I'm doing a piece on the effects of takeout on food--particularly from upscale places. I know some restaurants won't do to-go orders because they like to control the quality/presentation of their dishes, but I'm fascinated by the fact that most *will* accomodate takeout orders, even though it might mean that a $17 scallop appetizer's dainty portion ends up smooshed against one side of a styrofoam container (or something might get soggy/overcooked in transit).

Anyone out there eat pricey takeout? What are your favorite places to order from? Does the lack of presentation bother you, or is it all about the food? Weird as it sounds, do any of them wrap things particularly well/inventively? Have you ever encountered a place that wouldn't do takeout (I know that none of the Great American Restaurants will do it)? Anyone willing to talk to me specifically for my piece can also reach me directly at the paper at 202-332-2100 x456. Thanks! Anne

I don't like to do take out for anything except Chinese food and pizza. My experience is that the containers trap heat and moisture which usually causes the food to continue to cook longer than intended and makes the it somewhat soggy. By the time you would get a medium rare Ray's ribeye home, it could be medium or worse and the crumbled bleu cheese would be all melted.

I don't like to do take out for anything except Chinese food and pizza.  My experience is that the containers trap heat and moisture which usually causes the food to continue to cook longer than intended and makes the it somewhat soggy.   By the time you would get a medium rare Ray's ribeye home, it could be medium or worse and the crumbled bleu cheese would be all melted.