Nooshi, Pan-Asian and Sushi on 19th & L Street Downtown, and Now Open in Barracks Row

Sakana is a reliable neighborhood joint, and in my four years of living around the corner, I found it unwaveringly friendly and steady. I wouldn't go there looking for gustatory heights, and the sushi list is unfortunately given to kinky concoctions a la Rock-n-Roll sushi, but stick with traditional choices and you should be fine. Damn cheap, too.

Rock-n-Roll Sushi is at least better than the flyer Nooshi mailed out last year advertising "Funky Sushi" at happy hour. Funky sushi. EWWWWWWWW.

Haha...yeah, not so appetizing is it!

I don't know much about the sushi at Nooshi (I'm still learning to love sushi) but the restaurant is a big favorite among my co-workers. I love their Mee Goreng and haven't really branched out to try other things on the menu.

My co-workers seem to love Nooshi as well, though I don't share the same level of unconditional adoration. There are some quality dishes (can't get away from the Drunken Noodles, particularly when ordered spicy and I'm definitely a fan of their Curry Laksa as well), but for the most part the place is relatively ho-hum for me. I feel that it suffers from the similar difficulty that all-kinds-of-asian food restaurants tend to experience. Nearby Cafe Asia tends to do a bit better of a job, in my opinion, and if you want a cheaper and dare I say more authentic option, Malaysian Kopitiam is close as well. As for Nooshi's sushi, I've had it a few times (and I indulged when they still had their $20 all you can eat deal) and while not horrible, they did tend to pack a bit more rice into it than most other places.

I used to eat here alot when it was oodles of noodles and I worked at Vidalia. I loved the Teppinaky Udon, the Phucket Noodles and the Curry Laska. I haven't been since they changed the name....don't know why.

Nooshi = noodles + sushi.