Beer Can Chicken Advice Needed

erikv

So somehow I've got it in my mind that I'm going to try cooking Beer Can Chicken for the first time this weekend and would appreciate any and all advice/tips I could get. I've never done it before, but love beer and chicken, so I figure it's hard to go wrong....thanks

Here's a dry rub that you might enjoy:

1 tablespoon of onion powder

1 tablespoon of garlic powder

1 tablespoon of oregano

1 tablespoon of paprika

1 tablespoon of black pepper

1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon of brown sugar

I would only use about one-half of the beer in the can, and you'll get the best flavor with a darker beer. Drink the rest with confidence.

And yes, it is important to use an aluminium beer can.

One thing to keep in mind is that the beer doesn't really flavor the chicken, unless you're using a very strong beer, so be sure to season the chicken liberally. Its really more there to provide steam. This will be the moistest chicken you've even had (is moistest a word?). I've know some people even use cans of soda instead of beer. I can't vouch for that, but its a thought.

A lot depends on what kind of grill you are using. Best to go long and slow so a bullet smoker is best.

Here is a recipe:

click

Good recipe - but if you have just a standard weber you won't be able to get it to go to such a low temp so it will take about 1/2 the time (indirect heat). You will find a thermometer for checking the internal temp essential for this.

A lot depends on what kind of grill you are using. Best to go long and slow so a bullet smoker is best.

Here is a recipe:

click

Good recipe - but if you have just a standard weber you won't be able to get it to go to such a low temp so it will take about 1/2 the time (indirect heat). You will find a thermometer for checking the internal temp essential for this.