14K, 14th & K Streets NW

14K. Surprised myself that I didn't automatically order a burger. Instead, on two separate occasions: crab cake; mussels. Not bad. But, I need to remember not to order mussels out at restaurants. I should just save my money on that one: they are a better value when self prepared. Besides: mussels are so cheap and easy to prepare... and they always taste better... at home.

What an original name ... on all fronts...

The previous menu listed a 14K burger. I studied the menu for a good 5 minutes before I realized the burger wouldn't be garnished with edible gold flakes. Although I did think it was an interesting concept.

14K Restaurant and Lounge web site.

The previous menu listed a 14K burger. I studied the menu for a good 5 minutes before I realized the burger wouldn't be garnished with edible gold flakes. Although I did think it was an interesting concept.

14K Restaurant and Lounge web site.

And this from the web site:

One of Washington DC's Best Restaurants.

The 14K Restaurant is recognized as one of the best Restaurants in all of Washington, DC....

The 14K Restaurant is regarded by many as "The Place to Meet" in Washington DC...

I love how they do not provide any references.

And this from the web site:

I love how they do not provide any references.

if you must eat at 14K -- and we do a lot because I work on the block -- the Lightning Calamari Salad is very good and big enough to serve as an entree for most people. For $11 it's a great value.

Otherwise, the place is very meh.

I’m a 14K regular and would like to report some changes: the space has been renovated and a happy hour has been instituted. From 5 to 7PM the bar menu and drinks are half price. Rob and Jose, who staff the bar, are very attentive.