Saute Pan

Ilaine

Just bought my first saute pan at TJ Maxx, a 4 qt. All-Clad LTD, marked down from $260 to $99, and trying to decide whether to keep it or not.

After all, I've been cooking for 40 years without one.

What can I do with a stainless steel high sided saute pan that I can't do with a cast iron skillet, a high sided cast iron fryer, a non-stick Calphalon skillet, and an assortment of Le Creuset and wannabee Dutch and French ovens (from 1 qt. to 6 qt.)? Not to mention an assortment of sauce pots and stock pots (from 1 qt. to 20 qt.), none of which are All-Clad but the larger ones Costco imitation All-Clad, metal sandwich on the bottom but not up the sides, and the smaller ones Chantal.

Just bought my first saute pan at TJ Maxx, a 4 qt. All-Clad LTD, marked down from $260 to $99, and trying to decide whether to keep it or not.

What can I do with a stainless steel high sided saute pan that I can't do with a cast iron skillet, a high sided cast iron fryer, a non-stick Calphalon skillet, and an assortment of Le Creuset and wannabee Dutch and French ovens (from 1 qt. to 6 qt.)? Not to mention an assortment of sauce pots and stock pots (from 1 qt. to 20 qt.), none of which are All-Clad but the larger ones Costco imitation All-Clad, metal sandwich on the bottom but not up the sides, and the smaller ones Chantal.

I also have all manner of other pots and pans, but find that my All-Clad stainless sauté pan is perfect for sauteeing mushrooms, and for making risotto, it is incomparable. As a general rule, I use my cast iron for frying, making pancakes and grilled cheese sandwiches, and for other uses that don't involve a lot of liquid. For pan reduction sauces, the All-Clad is great. As I gradually accumulated a few All Clad pots, I pretty much stopped using my Calphalons altogether. $99 is a great price for that pan.