College Student Dinner

Tom Clifford

I'm a college student in DC for the semester, and we have some student funds from our school that we can use and have decided to go out for a nice dinner together. Budget is $100 per person. I'm the most into food, and I wanted to try something on the more adventurous side, but I think the rest of the group really wants more of the type of place where you can get a nice big piece of meat cooked very well. Can people help me with some recommendations?

I appreciate the help.

I'm a college student in DC for the semester, and we have some student funds from our school that we can use and have decided to go out for a nice dinner together. Budget is $100 per person. I'm the most into food, and I wanted to try something on the more adventurous side, but I think the rest of the group really wants more of the type of place where you can get a nice big piece of meat cooked very well. Can people help me with some recommendations?

I appreciate the help.

Not wildly adventurous but a decent compromise (and enough icky-good French stuff to expand a few horizons): the Park cafe, at the Willard, two blocks from the White House. Reserve the tables outside. For $100 you should be able to eat well and even quaff some of their reasonably-priced wine.

For big chunks of meat: the metro-accessible Ray's the Classics in Silver Spring.

I'm a college student in DC for the semester, and we have some student funds from our school that we can use and have decided to go out for a nice dinner together. Budget is $100 per person.

You haven't said if you are of wine-quaffing age yet. ;-) Wine or cocktails can add a significant bit to a bill- figure ~30$ per person, and so that's going to cut into what you can get and where you can go. If you're not drinking alcohol, then you have more flexibility.