Monica Bhide at the National Press Club Book Fair + trip to VA wine country

Skipper10

The following announcement arrived in my mail box this morning:

Cookbook Authors Added to Nov. 17 Book Fair

Bestselling cookbook authors, including Top Chef’s Carla Hall and Spike Mendelsohn, will join 75 nationally known writers autographing and selling their books at the Book Fair & Authors' Night from 5:30 to 8:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 17.

Admission to the 32nd annual fair is free for NPC members, $5 for non-members. Proceeds benefit the programs and operations of the NPC's Eric Friedheim National Journalism Library.

No outside books permitted. Check back later for a full list of participants.

Nancy Baggett – "K neadlessly Simply: Fabulous, Fuss-free, No-knead Breads" - $24.95

For years, home cooks have shied away from baking their own bread, intimidated by the mess and all the required kneading. With Baggett's new “ Kneadlessly Simple” method, complete novices can bake bread quickly and easily. Baggett is a baking expert, food journalist and bestselling cookbook author whose 13 titles include the IACP Award–winning “International Chocolate Cookbook.” She contributes to Eating Well, the Washington Post and is an occasional commentator for NPR's “Weekend All Things Considered.”

Monica Bhide – "Modern Spice: Inspired Indian Flavors for the Contemporary Kitchen" $25.00

Born in New Delhi, raised in the Middle East and living in Washington, D.C., Bhide is the perfect representative of the new generation of Indian American cooks who have updated traditional dishes, painstakingly prepared by their Indian mothers and grandmothers, for modern American lifestyles and tastes. Bhide is an engineer-turned-writer whose work has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, Food & Wine, Bon Appétit, and Town & Country. She has published two previous Indian cookbooks.

Carla Hall & Spike Mendelsohn – "Top Chef: The Quickfire Cookbook" $29.95