Requesting A Specific Waiter

I'm in vacation in Canada, showing the husband the joys of the Stratford Festival.

I've been coming here every year since 2000, and have one special place that I adore that I've been coming to since 01. Part of the appeal is the waiter I always sit with --Robert manages to remember what wines I like, what desserts I like, the differing tastes of the friend I travel with and generally makes for an exceptional evening. On par with a night at Citronelle under Mark's care...

So when I made the reservation to take the husband, I requested a table with Robert. I quickly got an email back saying that the table was reserved and that they had noted my request.

When we arrived, no Robert. He wasn't working that night.

:lol:

Should they have called and warned me???? I would have happily changed the evening we came.

We had a nice evening, but it wasn't the same and I feel like I've built up this experience with Mr. BLB and not quite delivered.

I'm coming back in August with the usual traveling friend--the same request is on file but I suspect I'll make more of an effort to make sure he's working that night...

So...

From a diner's perspective--do you have a special waiter you request?

From an owner-manger's perspective---do you think you owe a customer a call or email when the waiter requested is unavaible?

I'll be back online next week.

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

Jennifer

When we go to Las Vegas, we often eat at Canaletto's, at the Venetian. Our favorite waiter in the world, Vito, is there. He's just wonderful: straight out of Italy, hilarious, comical, but a professional--European service, through and through.