Switching Careers to Pastry

alwayshungry

Hello,

I am a longtime journalist who is seriously weighing a mid-career change into the pastry world. I would love to hear thoughts from those in the field about this question:

How important is pastry school in building a career in the field, especially if you're starting at midlife?

In other words, are programs like the one at L'Academie pretty much prerequisites to being able to find good opportunities in kitchens? Or is learning on the job an equally viable path?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts you can offer.

Catherine

Hello,

I am a longtime journalist who is seriously weighing a mid-career change into the pastry world. I would love to hear thoughts from those in the field about this question:

How important is pastry school in building a career in the field, especially if you're starting at midlife?

In other words, are programs like the one at L'Academie pretty much prerequisites to being able to find good opportunities in kitchens? Or is learning on the job an equally viable path?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts you can offer.

Catherine

First, go stage and see if you like it. Call a place and offer to hang around for a bit unpaid and see if you're into the environment and such, and see if it's something that you're interested in doing.

Second, it all depends. Going to culinary school can open doors, but it does so at a high price. If you find a good chef that's willing to take you on and take you under their wing, it can be as good. Ferran Adria, Thomas Keller and Heston Blumenthal never went to culinary school.

thanks!!

First, go stage and see if you like it. Call a place and offer to hang around for a bit unpaid and see if you're into the environment and such, and see if it's something that you're interested in doing.