Home-Brewing Jun Kombucha

Katya4me

My little brother has been brewing regular kombucha for a while but it didn't sound particularly appealing to me, both flavor or process.  Then he mentioned the jun variant and after researching it, sounded much more appealing.  For those who are unfamiliar, the kombucha that you typically find has a based of black tea and white sugar whereas jun kombucha is brewed with green tea and honey.  Jun kombucha also prefers a slightly lower temperature for fermenting, and takes only a week for the first fermentation.   

I started brewing jun kombucha back in April when my he gifted me with a SCOBY.  Once I had that, I still needed a jar and then bottles for holding the finished product.  I bought a 1 gallon ceramic jar w/ a spigot  for convenience.  Fill the jar with the brewed sweetened tea, add the extra water, top with the SCOBY and cover with a paper towel for a week.  The instructions said to test the ph level, but after the first couple of batches, I stopped doing it as I was happy with the taste and the process. 

IMG_20180328_200408.md.jpg

After a week, I take out the SCOBY along with a cup or so of the kombucha and set aside for the next batch.  I drain into 3 big bottles with different flavoring agents added and leave them on the counter for another 3 days, after which I strain them into 6 small bottles and put them in the fridge, at which point, the fermentation process stops. 

I am a huge fan of variety and trying unique flavors that you can't buy at a grocery store, so I've been having a lot of fun trying different combinations.  As of this weekend, I've tried 31 different combinations now and figured I should document for posterity and if anyone is curious or has recommendations on other combinations to try.

Combination Thoughts
Lychee & Vanilla Delicious, sweeter and mellower
Chai Spices & Agave Very smooth, nice flavors
Mint & Lime juice w/ Agave Great w/ Coconut Rum
Rose Petal & Agave Delicious, great floral flavor