WAR (Wins Above Replacement) - "The" Advanced Metric Stat in Baseball, but What Is It?

DonRocks

Can someone please explain this stat to me, and why it seems to be *THE* advanced metric of choice? 

How is dWAR (Defensive Wins Above Replacement) sewn into this? I have a feeling WAR grossly undervalues defense, and is extremely flawed, but until I see how it's derived, I can only speculate.

dWAR seems very flawed to me, so if it's an ingredient in the WAR recipe, the dish is probably fundamentally wrong.

49 minutes ago, DonRocks said:

Can someone please explain this stat to me, and why it seems to be *THE* advanced metric of choice? 

How is dWAR (Defensive Wins Above Replacement) sewn into this? I have a feeling WAR grossly undervalues defense, and is extremely flawed, but until I see how it's derived, I can only speculate.

dWAR seems very flawed to me, so if it's an ingredient in the WAR recipe, the dish is probably fundamentally wrong.

I am not an Expert on WAR, though I have read through descriptions to try and grasp what it represents.  I do leave it to those more knowledgeable to present coherent description(s) while I do have some perspective:

A.  WAR presents a single number; hence it creates an easy way to rate players against one another, the player with the highest WAR being rated the statistical best.  It would seem to me since it creates an easy method of ranking by using one number that makes it easy to use and increases its popularity.