Cooking Classes for Kids

Now that BLBaby is 5 (gasp!) and about to start K, I think he'd enjoy learning how to cook a bit. He helps mix things now and he can use the blender with adult supervision. He blends his fruit and yogurt together everyday for school.

He already has the shopping at the farmers market part down.

I know about the Mollie Katzen books but I'm wondering there are in classes in Montgomery County to help teach little folks basic kitchen skills.

Thanks!

I looked a few years back, and wasn't too thrilled with what I found. Expensive, and none of them impressed me.

Then I realized I wasn't the audience - it's the yuppie stay-at-home mom with the $50k kitchen that they don't actually cook in.

As it turns out, I'm a pretty good teacher for my kids. Started out with basic knife skills, and just had them help in the kitchen when I'm making dinner. Neither one is cooking a gourmet meal anytime soon, but they can do salad, steamed/sauteed veggies, omelets, burgers, potatoes, pasta, rice, etc., and can follow a basic recipe from a cookbook.