Where to eat in DC on the Cheap

DanM

Good morning,

Wifey and I will be visiting DC next month for a quick and hopefully cheap vacation. I was wondering what are some good options for cheap eats in the DC area. We keep kosher, but are willing to eat vegetarian and fish when we go out. My wife is from Texas, so Mexican restaurants are a bonus for her and I am a baker, so bakeries are are on my short list. We are also willing to pack a few picnics during the trip, so good local markets would be appreciated. We will have our car, but will mostly be travelling by Metro during the week.

I greatly appreciate any advice you can provide!

Dan :D

Will you be here during the week or weekend? Just wondering... if you are here on a Thursday afternoon near the mall is the Penn Quarter Farmer's market with breads, cheeses, meats, fruit and really tasty gelato which I used to time my court runs around. On Saturdays is the Dupont Circle Farmer's Market and the Eastern Market is open which are bigger markets for you to paruse for picnic stuff.

We in DC don't really have huge amounts of bakeries, but I think if you were here during a weekday you might like Breadline near the white house and I believe they have good veggie stuff too.

You could also go to Cowgirl Creamery in Penn Quarter for picnic stuff.

Also Le Pain Quotiden will have picnic stuff too, although a chain, I know, but pretty good bread.

Not sure about dinner places because of the dietary restrictions, but perhaps Indian food? Bombay Club makes good vegetarian and fish dishes and so does Rasika (although Bombay Club always seems cheaper to me). There are some other cheaper Indian options in DC that have good vegetarian that I read people talking about, but haven't been.

Regent Thai in Dupont/Adams Morgan has good thai food.

And I hear good things about Java Green for healthy vegetarian in DC.