15 hours ago, DonRocks said:

The sad news.

I will be going there one more time as a gesture of respect. ABC Canteen will be retired, strongly, in Italic, as perhaps the greatest fish-and-chips restaurant the Washington, DC area has ever known (with an equal amount of respect to Ferhat Yalcin and Fishnet, and a nod to Ford's Fish Shack and Eddie Moran at Fish Taco).

For posterity:

Screenshot 2017-11-24 at 15.56.13.pngScreenshot 2017-11-24 at 15.56.28.png

Better than Eamonn's at its best?  Too bad I’m in Athens.  I’ve never been there.

5 hours ago, Ericandblueboy said:

Better than Eammon’s at its best?  Too bad I’m in Athens.  I’ve never been there.

No! Eamonn's too! In fact, when Eamonn's first opened, and before they changed their batter, it may have been the best pure fish-and-chips restaurant of all (I still cannot urge people enough to dip their french fries in their curry sauce).

I am not a complete expert on fish and chips but I do recommend a fairly new bar in Rosslyn, Quinn's on the Corner, located at the corner of Quinn Street and Wilson Boulevard in Rosslyn.  I would you could call the batter fluffy and it certainly not dried out like the fist is in many other places.  The only negative I can give to Quinn's is that the chairs are high.

58 minutes ago, BookGuy said:

I am not a complete expert on fish and chips but I do recommend a fairly new bar in Rosslyn, Quinn's on the Corner, located at the corner of Quinn Street and Wilson Boulevard in Rosslyn.  I would you could call the batter fluffy and it certainly not dried out like the fist is in many other places.  The only negative I can give to Quinn's is that the chairs are high.

Better the chairs than the prices. :)

• Like 1

6 hours ago, BookGuy said:

5 hours ago, BookGuy said:

The price of the dish is eighteen dollars.  If I remember correctly (I also had two Black and Tans), there were three large pieces of fish plus the fries.