5 hours ago, DonRocks said:

Just off the top of my head, two films pop to mind:

"The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance" for sure - I adore this film, and have seen it at least twice in the past couple of years. It's my very favorite Western, and I can't really think of a runner-up (it would probably be "The Shootist," which I also love, but that has some gaps; "Liberty Valance" is pure poetry). Interestingly, John Wayne and Jimmy Stewart are in both movies (click on both of those links to see why I contend that we're so much more than a "food website").

"A Clockwork Orange" - I saw this in my early 20s, and it just stuck with me. It's depraved, bizarre, and I saw it before I studied Russian, so it sounded like they were speaking Plutonian. It snagged me early on, and I've never gotten tired of it.

I can't say either of these are "The Best" movies I've ever seen; just two that came to mind. However, I might choose "Liberty Valance" as a deathbed film - that's how much I like it.

A Clockwork Orange is great but I can only see it once, I'm afraid. I read the book first in a Lit class in college. The movie is a chilling adaptation!

For Kubrick I prefer Dr Strangelove, Spartacus, Paths of Glory, Barry Lyndon. 

You wouldn't believe it but I have never seen Full Metal Jacket or 2001: A Space Odyssey! I don't know HOW but I haven't! I am sure I will, and it won't be on a cell phone!

4 hours ago, DonRocks said:

"A Clockwork Orange" - I saw this in my early 20s, and it just stuck with me. It's depraved, bizarre, and I saw it before I studied Russian, so it sounded like they were speaking Plutonian. It snagged me early on, and I've never gotten tired of it.

1 hour ago, MC Horoscope said:

A Clockwork Orange is great but I can only see it once, I'm afraid. I read the book first in a Lit class in college. The movie is a chilling adaptation!

The other day I noticed on FB that an old friend and age peer identified this film as his all-time favorite.