Tomato Blight

Bad news in the New York Times.

It's already looking to be a particularly sucky summer for tomatoes, but suddenly a sucky summer looks better than no tomatoes at all.

A highly contagious fungus that destroys tomato plants has quickly spread to nearly every state in the Northeast and the mid-Atlantic, and the weather over the next week may determine whether the outbreak abates or whether tomato crops are ruined, according to federal and state agriculture officials.

Anybody seen signs of its approach?

Although I am a novice tomato grower, something appears to be getting my tomatoes from the bottom up as well. I dont believe it is blight. After some internet sleuthing I think it might be blossom end rot.

I had that one year - it's a calcium deficiency. Now I crush eggshells and put them in the soil where I'm going to grow the plants. I think gypsum works too.

So far mine are OK in Alexandria. (Knocking on wood.)

I don't know if its blight but I've been growing tomoatoes fairly succesfully for the last 5 or so years and this year is more or less a disaster. 60% of my plants are dead and the rest don't look too good (with the exception of a few tomatillo plants).

I had that one year - it's a calcium deficiency. Now I crush eggshells and put them in the soil where I'm going to grow the plants. I think gypsum works too.

So far mine are OK in Alexandria. (Knocking on wood.)

I do not seem to be having blight, but possibly this calcium deficiency. 4 of my plants seem fine (knock on wood), but the last one is dying one branch at a time. I am cutting off the branches as soon as they are yellowing, but I fear that plant is toast before any fruit comes off.

Is it too late to add any calcium to the soil now? Eggshells? Gypsum? Something else?