Company Holiday Lunch

govtemployee

I'm in charge of planning the holiday party at the office this year. I'm brand new to DC - some might even say I'm the least suited to the task at hand - and so I'm hoping for some advice. The ideal location would:

1) Be within a few metro stops (or walking distance) of Union Station

2) Take reservations for a group of about 35

3) Have a menu that can cater to most palates

4) Cost $20-25 per person (though a nicer place where one could opt to pay more while others could still find a meal in the $20 range would be ideal)

I appreciate any tips you guys can offer. Thanks!

I'd be tempted to call Cava on Capitol Hill and see what they could do. (They cater so maybe you could negotiate an agreed upon menu for a fixed price in your range -- otherwise the lunch menu looks like it might be limited.) I've only been for dinner and in Rockville, but the food is great and the format is tapas-like, which seems to encourage interaction. http://dc.cavamezze.com/site/info

Oyamel (near Gallery Place) would be my other recommendation: http://www.oyamel.com/ Similar deal in terms of format.

On the one hand, neither of these are restaurants that most people who say "cater to most palates" -- at least not in the way Clydes does (e.g. diner-like menu with familiar dishes in every category). On the other hand, both are very tasty (unlike Clydes, IMO), and offer lots of choices (e.g good options for vegetarians, a wide spectrum of spiciness).

As someone who's not a big fan of office parties, I'd want the food to be interesting and, potentially, something to talk about. But if it's a convival group to begin with and somewhat risk-averse wrt food, then YMMV.