Lunch Options off the Green Line

fuzzy510

Started a new job recently that has me commuting down the Green Line during lunch, and it occurs to me that I'm not terribly familiar with a lot of the area. Is there anything in that stretch between Fort Totten and L'Enfant Plaza that I need to know about where I can pick up a decent lunch without spending close to $20 each time?

I'm no expert, but I don't really think there is anything between L'Enfant & Ft. Totten. :)

Except, of course, every restaurant in Penn Quarter or Chinatown. Gallery Place stop.

Probably worth a call to see if Proof is still doing their $12 bar special. Otherwise Full Key, Matchbox and Jaleo leap to mind.

Personally, I think $20 is an odd boundary. I 'd tend to go for under $10 three days a week (Chipotle, Chopt, whatever) and then hit something a little nicer (701?) on Day Four. But, everyone's utility curve is a little different.

Except, of course, every restaurant in Penn Quarter or Chinatown. Gallery Place stop.

Probably worth a call to see if Proof is still doing their $12 bar special. Otherwise Full Key, Matchbox and Jaleo leap to mind.

Zaytinya is right there, too.

I'm no expert, but I don't really think there is anything between L'Enfant & Ft. Totten. :)

Those of us in Petworth disagree!

OK, Domku is a walk from the metro, so that might not work. But they do lunch a few days a week, and that makes me happy.I think Sweet Mango does lunch too (tasty jerk chicken.) Also, we have a new Sala Thai on top of the metro. Not my favorite, but others like it.

As for Columbia Heights, there's a ThaiTanic. Commonwealth does lunch. So does Taqueria Distrito Federal. (Again, this makes me happy.)

Personally, I think $20 is an odd boundary. I 'd tend to go for under $10 three days a week (Chipotle, Chopt, whatever) and then hit something a little nicer (701?) on Day Four. But, everyone's utility curve is a little different.