Pork Tenderloin

JLK

Help! I'm a giant stress-case for a variety of work-related reasons.

In my fridge, there's a very nice pork tenderloin, begging to be cooked. I don't have lots of time to shop for fancy ingredients or fuss with the cooking, and I leave on a business trip tomorrow which means the thing MUST BE COOKED TONIGHT. :)

What is a nice, tasty, simple preparation using this cut? Remember, I'm a novice in the kitchen who is still just figuring things out. I don't want to rush in sans recipe or plan and end up making the pork inedible because I used the wrong type of heat, spicing, etc.

Thanks!

Like, one of those cute skinny pork tenderloins that come two to a cryovac at Safeway, or one of those twine-wrapped fire logs bound with butcher's twine?

Porc Stephanie:

Pork

Apples

Cream

Sage

Wine

Shallots

Mustard

If it's of reasonable girth, slice the loin lengthwise, stuff it with chopped apples and sage until it looks right (not too thick), re-roll it, salt and pepper the liberally, and brown it on high heat on the oven top. Twine helps, but isn't critical.

Turn the oven on to 300 or so. When the oven is hot and the loin is brown, shove the whole sautee pan into the oven.

In the mean time, in a small pan, melt maybe a tablespoon and a half of butter and sautee a shallot or some very finely chopped onion until clear. Splash a couple of glurgs of white wine (a quarter cup?) in, and reduce by 2/3.

Take off the heat and let the pan cool for a bit.

Check the pork with a meat thermometer, if you have one. You're looking for about 145 degrees. This could take a while.