Jump to content

curls

Members
  • Content Count

    94
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

About curls

  • Rank
    grouper

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

Recent Profile Visitors

648 profile views
  1. Sorry, no experience with this kind of bookclub but it sounds interesting. How are you structuring yours? Does everyone cook one recipe from the book and bring it to bookclub?
  2. Did you season & sear the pork chop post sous vide?
  3. Sorry that I won't be able to participate this time. Have fun making tamales! Please post pictures.
  4. @NolaCaine I recommend starting with Kenji's recipes on the Anova site, the recipes at Chef Steps, and Douglas Baldwin's website (links included below). Hope you enjoy sous vide. I like it a lot for cooking chicken and turkey breasts. https://recipes.anovaculinary.com/?searchString=Kenji&categorySlug= https://www.chefsteps.com/gallery?generator=chefsteps&published_status=published&difficulty=any&sort=newest&premium=everything https://www.douglasbaldwin.com/sous-vide.html
  5. Please put me down as a maybe for tamale making on 8 December. @weezy approximately where are you located?
  6. BreadFurst has them and they are delicious.
  7. Went searching and found a few recipes and varities of bao (steamed, baked, steam fried, soup dumpling, savory, sweet, etc.). I'll include the links below. Which kind of bao were you interested in making @ktmoomau? I'm looking forward to this. 🙂 Pineapple Buns (Bolo Bao) https://www.splendidtable.org/recipes/pineapple-buns-bolo-bao Pan-Fried Leek Buns (Shui Jian Bao) https://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2015/03/pan-fried-taiwanese-leek-buns-shui-jian-bao.html Roast Duck in Steamed White Bun https://www.cuisine.co.nz/recipe/roast-duck-burger-with-hoisin-sauce-in-steamed-white-bun/ Steamed BBQ Pork Buns (Char Siu Bao) https://thewoksoflife.com/steamed-bbq-pork-buns-char-siu-bao/ Chinese BBQ Pork Buns (Baked Cha Siu Bao) https://thewoksoflife.com/chinese-bbq-pork-buns-cha-siu-bao/ Taiwanese Pork Belly Buns (Gua Bao) https://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2014/04/taiwanese-pork-belly-bun-recipe.html Bao Buns With Red-Braised Pork Belly https://food52.com/recipes/76796-bao-buns-with-red-braised-pork-belly Steamed bao buns https://www.greatbritishchefs.com/recipes/steamed-bao-buns-recipe Steam-fried bao buns (Sheng jian bao) https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/veggie-bao-buns and a variety of bao recipes & videos from Andrea Nguyen https://www.vietworldkitchen.com/?s=bao
  8. I have tickets to a show that evening, think we’ll be done before 7? Other than that, sounds like a good plan. Do you already have a recipe that you like or have multiple recipes you would like to test?
  9. Sunday's Duck Dinner was delicious! Thank you Dean, Kay, and the Grotto staff. If you love duck, I highly recommend going to the next Duck Dinner.
  10. @ktmoomau I don't know how to make bao buns or saltenas but would also be interested in learning how to make them. I'm sure I have a few cooking skills that I could share. I'm interested in learning how to make choux paste, grougers, eclairs, etc.. and would like to have enough people around to enjoy them (don't want to end up knee deep in choux paste experiments).
  11. Thank you very much for the recipe and tips @smithhemb.
×
×
  • Create New...