Moon Rabbit - Kevin Tien's new Vietnamese place in the old Kith and Kin space on the Wharf

As I’ve said in other recent posts, NOW IS THE TIME TO GO TO RESTAURANTS!  

I went to Moon Rabbit on the DC Wharf last night (in the former Kith and Kin space) and had a wonderful meal with some service issues, but since they’re only a few weeks old I’ll give them a pass (meaning, I’m going to write about what happened to me, but none of it would prevent me from returning).

All the staff wore masks the entire time and the tables were well spaced, and I felt completely safe and conformable there.  There’s probably more of a risk and more exposure to people at the local grocery store or Target.  We ate early (6pm) and ended up with a killer table right in front of one of the big windows.  In another time, the Wharf would have been packed with people strolling by, but the view didn’t suffer!

The food was very good and very pretty.  I’m no expert on Vietnamese food, but to me, this could have been served at any number of DC places like Roses or Reverie, etc.  That’s not intended to be a knock, but more of a reflection of what food looks like in 2020.  The menu itself was very appealing and I could have literally ordered anything on it and would have been happy.

When presented with the menus, the server immediately went into upsell mode by strongly and repeatedly recommending the two most expensive cocktails on the menu ($25 and $32 each!!!).  He really pushed the $32 VSOP Sazerac!  I’m not a cocktail drinker and rarely look at that portion of the menu, but these prices strike me as ridiculous and prohibitive.  We got a bottle of wine instead.