Chick Sexer Available--Your Worries Are Over

Michael Landrum

In Susan Orlean's article in the most recent New Yorker on the trend, pleasures and concerns of raising laying chickens in a backyard coop, she writes, "More worrisome was the fact that unless you are a professional chicken-sexer (a critical job in the poultry industry) it is nearly impossible to tell the sex of a baby chick..."

In light of the likely interest of some members of this board in raising their own hens for fresher than farm-fresh eggs and the grave dangers of even one mis-sexed chicken in a group (trust me, gruesome would not even begin to describe the resulting carnage), I thought I should make known the fact that for a number of years I worked as a professional chick sexer--trained and highly-skilled in not only the standard alar method, but also the extremely difficult and highly specialized, but most accurate Japanese Anal Method--and will happily offer my chick sexing services to any and all in need.

The above is completely true and will happily provide details to prove so, and Don, you dast not delete this thread unless you can prove otherwise.

I've often passed Mr. Landrum whilst walking about Arlington and never really known what to say that wasn't banal, like "hey, great steaks, man!" would just make me cringe afterwards. Now, though, I can step resolutely in front of him, say "Japanese Anal Method," raise my eyebrow, and walk away.

I had a friend who was riding in an elevator, which stopped on a floor. In walked Wilt Chamberlain.

(This is a true story, not a joke.)

He said, "Hey! You're Wilt Chamberlain!"

Wilt Chamberlain said, "No shit."

Guess he didn't have an anus.

I suspect the answer to the original question about carnage is related to the reason they castrate male calves on ranches that raise cattle as food. Fully equipped bulls are very aggressive.